Dr.Srinivas R
Chief Scientist
CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology                             
(Council of Scientific and Industrial Research)
Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India
Tarnaka, Hyderabad-500007, Telangana, INDIA

Landline 27193482
Mobile 9440802806
Fax 27193156
Email ID srini@iict.res.in
Alternate Email ID sragampeta@yahoo.co.in
Alternate URL



Born on 28th July 1958 in Vemulawada.Joined IICT (the then RRL) in 1984 as sceintist B and presently working as a Chief scientist and Head of the Division of Mass Spectrometry (National Center for Mass Spectrometry) and Analytical divisions.


Did B.Sc (1977) and M.Sc (1979) from Osmania University and Ph.D (Chemistry) from I.I.T. Chennai in July 1985. Selected for the award of DAAD fellowship and deputed to Germany to work as a visiting scientist in the group of Prof. Helmut Schwarz (President of von Humboldt Foundation) from 1989-1991. Again I was awarded senior DAAD fellowship in 1999 for 3 months.


Jr. Scientist (Sc. B): Dec. 1984-1989 IICT Hyderabad

Scientist (Sci.C):1989-94

Senior Scientist (Sci E1) :1994-99

Scientist EII:1999-2004

Scientist F:2004—2009

Scientist G:2009-continuing

Research Interests

Present Research

Gas-phase ion chemistry of reactive intermediates and elusive molecules

of fundamental importance; Organic and biological mass spectrometry ; structure elucidation, mechanistic studies and differentiation of isomers by mass spectrometric techniques; stress stability studies of pharmaceuticals ,characterization of drug metabolites and metabolomics

Projects Involved

Metabolomics (Molecular diagnostic tools: Metabolic Profiling of Human body Fluids by MS and NMR (CMET) CSC 0110 )

Pharamaceutical analysis (stress stability studies and metabolism of drug molecules)


Gas phase ion chemistry (structure elucidation, differentiation of isomers)

OPCW proficiency tests

Research Group Members

  1. Dr S.Prabhakar Principle scientist
  2. Dr. U.V.R. Vijaya Sarathi, Senior scientist
  3. Dr. N.P. Raju, T.O. EII
  4. Dr. V.V.S. Lakshmi
  5. Mr. P.V. Ravi


  1. Plasma protein binding, pharmacokinetics, tissue distribution and CYP450 biotransformation studies of fidarestat by ultra high performance liquid chromatography- high resolution mass spectrometry Roshan M. Borkar, Murali Mohan Bhandi, Ajay P. Dubey, Prajwal P. Nandekar, Abhay T. Sangamwar, Sanjay K. Banerjee and R. Srinivas Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis 102, 1 (2015) (IF=2.83)
  2. Characterization of degradation products of Ivabradine by LC-HR-MS/MS: a typical case of exhibition of different degradation behavior in HCl and H2SO4 acid hydrolysis Prinesh N. Patel, Roshan M. Borkar, Pradipbhai D. Kalariya, Rahul P. Gangwal, Abhay T. Sangamwar, S. Gananadhamua and R. Srinivas, J. Mass Spectrom. 50, 344 (2015)(IF=2.71)
  3. Forced degradation of fingolimod: Effect of co-solvent and characterization of degradation products by UHPLC-Q-TOF-MS/MS and (1)H NMR Prinesh N Patel, Pradipbhai D Kalariya, S Gananadhamu , R Srinivas Journal of pharmaceutical and biomedical analysis 115:388-394 (2015) I.F=2.83
  4. Characterization of forced degradation products of pazopanib hydrochloride by UHPLC-Q-TOF/MS and in silico toxicity prediction Prinesh N. Patel,Pradipbhai D. Kalariya,Mahesh Sharma, Prabha Garg, M. V. N Kumar Talluri, S. Gananadhamu, R. Srinivas Journal of Mass Spectrometry 07/2015; 50(7).IF= 2.71
  5. Characterization of forced degradation products of ketorolac tromethamine using LC/ESI/Q/TOF/MS/MS and in silico toxicity prediction, Pradipbhai D. Kalariya, B. Raju, Roshan M. Borkar, Deepak Namdev, S. Gananadhamu, Prajwal P. Nandekar, Abhay T. Sangamwar and R.Srinivas, J. Mass Spectrom. 49, 380 (2014)


  1. Received “Eminent Mass Spectrometrist “ award for the year 2003 from Indian Society for Mass Spectrometry, BARC, Mumbai.


  1. Editorial Board Member of “Journal of Mass Spectrometry” (John Wiley Pub, USA .since April 2003)
  2. Editorial Board Member of “Open Spectroscopy Journal” (Benthem Pub. Since 2007)
  3. Fellow of A.P. Akademi of Sciences since 2007
  4. Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (London)
  5. Advisory board member of National Authority of Chemical weapons convention, New Delhi and Heading CACT, IICT having OPCW designated status since April 2008

© 2014 CSIR-IICT, Tarnaka, Hyderabad - 500007, India. Ph: 91-40-27191234